The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The newsletter of the West Meria Public health Council claims that to reduce absenteeism in their schools and workplaces, citizens should eat Ichthaid which derived from the fish oil daily because in nearby city East Meria people eat fish a lot and visit the doctor only once or twice per year. However, there are some logical fallacies that the newsletter should make them strengthen.

First, the newsletter shows weak analogy between the consumption of fish and seldom visit to the doctor because of the colds. According to the article, there is a report that fish consumption and the frequency of visiting doctors shows high relevance. However, there could be other reasons that citizens of East Meria don’t visit doctors often for cold. For instance, there is an exclusive health training center in East Meria that prevent citizens from disease and encourage them to exercise. if the newsletter provides more information to eradicate other possibilities, the statement will be more valid. also, the report does not give adequate credibility by not providing when the research occurred or the distribution of the fish consumption. The study could be researched 10 years ago and it could be different today. East Meria could have various fish can factories that make fish consumption skyrocketing. it could be the company that consume fish, not the individuals.

Second, it is insufficient to conclude that cold is the most frequently given reason for absence from school and work. there could be other reasons to prevent students and businessmen from going to where they belong. if the schools in West Meria are business related school and it is essential to absent the class to accumulate experiences from the workplace, absence due to experience will be the most frequent reason. also, the reason why the cold become the frequently given reason could be because it is the best excuse to give without questions. if citizens have serious family problems that forces to go home, it is difficult to speak it out load. Instead of explaining them, people will just say that they catch a cold.

Lastly, there is not much information about Ichthaid, which is a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil will provide exactly the same effect as eating substantial amount of fish. The fish may prevent the cold, and the cold is the most frequently give reason for absence. Nevertheless, there may be other cold preventing nutrition that is contained in fish but not contained in Ichthaid. During the manufacturing of Ichthaid, the substance could be destroyed or transmuted. The newsletter should inform the citizens that Ichthaid contains the substance that prevents the cold.