The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where consumption of the plant beneficia is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of beneficia can prevent colds. Since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of nutritional supplements derived from beneficia. We predict this will dramatically reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, In order to reduce absenteeism from school and workplace, The West Meria Public Health Council concluded that the student and the working class people should consume nutritional element originated from beneficia. It comes to this conclusion based on a study report of nearby East Meria. As it stands now, the author's contention might prove valid, however, the author needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence in order to increase the persuasiveness of his argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the city of West Meria and East Meria are roughly the same. But this might not be the case. It is possible that citizens of the city of East Meria are more conscious about their health, hence, they maintain warm clothes when they go outside. These warm clothes keep them warm outside the home and thus helps them in fighting cold. It is also possible that there is Industrial area in West Meria where people are more exposed to hazards. Due to this exposure people's immune system is hampered and they can not fight agains cold. If either of the scenario is true, then the author's contention that people should consume beneficia is significantly flawed.

Moreover, the author presumes that the study was conducted in a scientific manner. But this might not be true. It is possible that the study was conducted in about a 10 years ago. Many things have changed in the past 10 years, but they are making the recommendation based on this past study. It is also possible that people who were doing the study did not take a good sample. This people may have visited a small town and took sample from that town made the report based on this data for the entire city. If the scenario mentioned above is true, the author's recommendation that people should consume beneficia doesn't hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that no other factor other than benefia are responsible for the prevention of the cold. But this might not be the case. It is possible that people of the East Meria were eating other medicine alongside with beneficia which worked against cold and this medicine reduced the number of affected people. It is also possible that people of East Meria kept their house warm by lighting the fire and thus kept their body warm which helped them fighting against cold. If either of the scenario mentioned above is true, then the author's contention is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the author might be correct in recommending daily use of supplement originated from beneficia. However, as it stands now, the authors contention is based on three unwarranted assumptions which significantly hinders the assertions credibility. If the author is able to provide answer to these above mentioned questions, it will increases the persuasiveness of his argument.