The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Here, the author states that margarine has replaced butter in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the Southwestern United States and this had little or no impact on their customers. Also, customers were not able to distinguish the difference between butter and margarine, or they have been duped with the name of margarine as butter. Author presents two evidences to support his argument, the first being, only 2 percent of customers have complained about the change. Secondly, when servers reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they were given margarine instead.

To begin with, there can be many possible reasons, why only two percent of people complained? Given that butter, has more cholesterol, affects health in long run if consumed in more quantity, increases obesity and so on. Individuals who were conscious for their health, chose margarine over butter. Also, margarine maybe cheaper, which makes it more affordable for consumer.

In addition to this, pancake sales are more during morning hours, as it is a breakfast meal. In morning time, due to the rush for reaching office on time, customers didn't have time for feedback or complaints.

Finally, servers who deliberately served margarine over butter, as claimed, may have dissuaded customers from doing so. Also, in local health magazine, may have written about benefits from margarine over butter. Thus people may have chosen margarine. Also, in restaurants of Happy Pancake House, comparison of butter to margarine may have been put up on the wall. So when, people asks for butter, severs explain to customers, why they should choose margarine. Thus, customers do not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter.

To recapitulate, author presents an interesting but a flawed argument and has failed to consider more alternative explanations for his claims. Had he provided more explanations as mentioned above, the argument would have been persuasive. As it remains, the author's argument is too weak to be true. Hence, I remain unconvinced.