The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the prompt presents some skeletal information as premises for its argument, which I do not find cogent enough. The argument lacks concrete evidence that can bolster its conclusion.The author of this prompt argues that because only 2 percent of its customers complained about its recent replacement of butter with margarine, therefore 98 percent of its customers are happy with this change. Also, it goes on to indicate that, because servers present margarine to customers who request for butter, do not complain, consequentially, they cannot distinguish between butter and margarine, or that they loosely refer to butter as margarine interchangeably.

First of all, it is imperative to highlight that this argument tends to adopt an “either or fallacy”. By this, I mean that the author presents only two options as the only available explanations for the Happy Pancake’s customers’ satisfaction level as regard the replacement of butter with margarine. It is possible that customers do not complain because butter and margarine do not taste very different, thus, they do not see a need to complain when given margarine. In addition, there is the adoption of inductive fallacy. The fact that only 2 percent of customers complained does not mean that 98 people out of 100 are truly happy with the change because we are not given the total number of customers the restaurant typically has on a good day. Correspondingly, the author needs to substantiate the argument with evidence of a survey that shows the total number of customer they had, prior to the change, and the customers they had after the change, in order to identify, if truly there was a little impact. Better still, a survey that determines the satisfaction level of the customers can also validate this argument.

Alternatively, as opposed to the customers not knowing the difference between butter and margarine, there is a possibility that the customers of Happy Pancake do not complain when they are given margarine, because margarine is healthier than butter, in the assumption that they are indeed happy with the change. Also, it may be that they did not see a convincing reason to complain about the change. However, this does not insinuate that they are happy with the change because rather than complain, they can just as well stop patronizing Happy Pancakes and visit other similar restaurants.

In conclusion, the argument is replete with illogical reasoning, due to the absence of some very pertinent information that could have made the argument more compelling.