The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The argument is the problem with the time devoted to local and national news. Due to the increased time to national news, less time has been devoted to the local news. This has led to complaints about the station's coverage of weather and local news. Also, the amount of orders for local advertising has decreased. So, the manager believes that the time devoted to weather and local news should be restored to its former level. At first glance, the argument seems rational but with an accurate look, we can see that it has some weaknesses.

Firstly, there is no evidence about the number of complaints about the increased time for national news. The manager has failed to provide accurate statistical figures about the number of viewers who have had complaints about this subject. The negligible number of viewers may have had complaints about the time devoted to national news. In this case, the reduction of time devoted to national news is not rational. It is possible that the national news was more important than local news, or the number of the national news was more than the local ones. To strengthen this argument, the manager must provide a percentage of complainers. If the amount of percentage of complainers is high, they can plan for more time for local news alongside the national news in order not to lose their viewers who are a fan of national news.

Secondly, about the local advertisement, how the manager knows that because of the increased time devoted to national news, it has decreased. There is no evidence about this subject. They have to check other reasons for the reduction of local businesses advertising, including the quality of advertising, the price and the content of the advertisement. Is the price of local advertisement rational? Has the quality of their advertisement been good? Has the content of the advertisement been relevant to the business? They have to consider whether the time that the ad has been shown was good or not. All of the factors mentioned are very important in the reasons for the reduction of local ads. To strengthen this argument these factors should be checked. They should know whether or not there is any relationship between the reduction of local businesses advertising and the time devoted to national news.