The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine, author claims that manned space flights are costly and dangerous. Hence they should invest their resources in unmanned space flight. I find this argument faulty due to a number of unwarranted assumptions. The author wrongfully assumes that (1) no human involvement in various outer space missions cost a lot of resources, (2) the recent success of unmanned space probes and satellites are representative of all kind of space mission , (3) These unmanned crafts will accurately function and wont need human help in case of any mishap and (4) These unmanned space flights can look for useful information correctly.

First of all, the author assumes that sending men or women in the space cost a lot and is very dangerous. The author does not provide any factual or statistical data to back up this assumption. That is why he also can not say for sure if the cost of unmanned flights is less than manned flights. Also he gives no evidence that compares the danger of a manned flight and unmanned flight.

Second he assumes that only recent success of space probes and satellites will qualify his argument. The author disregards the possibility that the unmanned missions before these "recent" missions were unsuccessful. Evidently only quoting the recent success of these unmanned space flights is not enough as they do not provide the overall data, from all the missions.

Thirdly , The author also assumes that in case of any mishap with these unmanned crafts, they will work perfectly on their own and no human help is required to rectify any problem. But he overlooks the fact that in many cases, there indeed is a requirement of human intelligence which takes care of the working and rectify faults in these kind of satellites or probes.

Finally the author assumes that only these unmanned space crafts can correctly look for the right information. He seems to overlook that in case there is some abnormality with the data or some unexpected situation of getting more desirable information arrives, an unmanned craft, due to lack of any intelligence may overlook the possibility. On the other hand if a human is present there, he can deal with the abnormality of those situations and data, well.

Hence I would say that due to lack of the evidence for the above assumptions the author makes, it is not wise to take his opinions seriously. Also as the author fails to rule out other possible explanations for his assumptions, his argument that "In order to save the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space, they should invest the resources in unmanned space flight." is quite nonviable.