The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The president of Humana University states in the memorandum that they have problems with increasing enrollment and a budget deficit. In order to resolve this issue, he proposes the implementation of online programs such as those implemented in the nearby Omni University, which increased its enrollment by 50 percent in their online program. However the author fails to respond to some critical questions about these claims and their origin. He hastily concludes without further analysis of these situations.

First, we should see exactly how much is the 50 percent increase in enrollment for the o...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.