The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

This increase in the sidewalk incidents happens due to the irrational anger drivers, and other things lead to the property damage and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. After addressing the past three years of data on this problem, the council decides to ban the use of cellphones on sidewalks not just because of the safety of the pedestrians but also brutal cases happen which causes property damage. I partially agree with the idea of the council to reduce cellphone usage during sidewalks. According to the traffic rules, it is very necessary for a pedestrian who is walking on the sidewalks being aware of the traffic around them.

But the one thing, which is very important that is it good from the perspective of the people who need to use their cellphone daily before work during the daily routine journey to their office, It can be very bad for the people who really need to use the phone before work, so there must be a different solution. In my information decrease, the usage of the cellphone is not as necessary as building a traffic boundary for the sidewalks. Yes, it can also work as good as banning the cellphone and I don't think that banning the cellphone is even necessary for that.

Because most of the people, who have work or lots of important things related to the internet, which is only accessible with the help of the phone. What if there is an emergency call coming for someone, but he is not picking it due to the ban or for the unnecessary charge they have to pay for this ban. So, I believe the council should come up with some different plans, for example, building a sidewalk boundary, so there will be no connection between the people on the sidewalk with an angry driver and there must be a guard on every side zebra crossing for controlling the crowd.

In conclusion, I would say Yes, it may have decreased the incidents to some extent, but It can be chaotic as for a person's job life. I prefer the council should come with some different ideas to cop-up with this problem, which lies in the gray area of the solutions and the problem. And nobody has any problem with that.