The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The board of Director of Monach BOOKS makes recommendation to open cafe in its store by discounting the space allocated to children's booke section. They suggest this will helph develop the buissness and better compete with Regal Books who have recently opened a cafe in their store. There are couple of questions that need to be answered to reach to the conclusion on the recommentation made by the board.

The recommendation has been made after the competitor of Monarch books, i.e., Royal Books opened a cafe in their store, and recommendation suggest opening a cafe in their store itself will help to better compete. However, it is important to know whether opening of the cafe in Royal Books has increased their customer base, or not. If there has been no effect of opening of Cafe on customer base then the suggestion that oopening of cafe will add customer is fallacious. If the customer base of Royal Books has increased few other questions need to answered to draw conclusion that similar affectt will be observed at Monach Book, as the presence of nearby cafe near both bookstore, did Royal Book discouted any section to accomodate the cafe. It may happen that there was no cafe near the Royal Book and opening of a cafe drew people to Royal Bookstore, while a famous cafe is present nearby the location of Monach Book Store. In this secnario the effect will be very different, as people whose primary goal to have a great coffeee may not come to Monach Book Store. Besides, if Royal Book store did not discout any section to create space for cafe, then they added the customer base from cafe without loosing any from the customer base they had. While in the case of Monach Book store the board reccomeds to discout the space allocated to children's book section to accomodate cafe, which will result in loss of portion of existential customer base.

Secondly, the board argues that the children's section can be discounted, as according to census the percentage of population under ten has reduced. However, this argument alone does not surfice that space for the children's book can be reduced. Firstly, it is important to know how significant is the decline in the population percentage of chldren below 10. If the change is insignificant then the basis of the argument that children book's space can be reduced as the demand will lower in future does not stand, thus discounting space from this section will lead to fall in present customer base. Besides, the data quoted is in percentage, it is very likely that the population of children under age of ten has actually increased but in terms of percentage it has fallen due to increase in life expectancy. In this secanrio the assumption of decrease in demand of children's book in future does not stand, and discounting space will have adverse effect. Thus, it also important to learn before concluding what is the fraction of customer base is dependendent on children's book.

Besides, it is imprtant to learn if the people are really interested to visit bookstore to have a coffee. People may like to visit a dedicated cafe, rather than visiting bookstore with cafe. A presence of nearby famous cofe will desuade people from visitng bookstore for cafe. Thus, it is important to learn about the cafes nearby and peoples choice and opinion.

Besides, other question would be will discounting space from childre's book section will lead to enough space for cafe, and weather present customer base would like to have cafe which can be noisy inside the bookstore.