The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selecction oof books on all subjets.

In this argument, the author concludes that Monarch Books should open its in-store café using the space that used to sell children’s books. To validate this conclusion, the author points out that Book and Bean, who runs this mode well, announces to step into the market of Collegeville. Also, the percentage of the population under age ten declines around the nation. Nonetheless, some specific proofs should be provided to better justify the argument.

The information concerning the nationwide decline in the percentage of the population under age ten is not accurate enough for us to predict a decrease in the sales of children’s books. The author only informs us the data collected around the whole country which cannot reflect the real situation in Collegeville and if the base amount of the data is considerable large while the Collegeville’s local government incentives the parents to give birth, the sales of the children’s books will be a significant number nonetheless. Moreover, modern parents and teachers in Collegeville could be preferable to books when educating their children and students nowadays, which might increase the sales of children’s books instead. Therefore, for lack of detailed information about the number of children in Collegeville, the probability of a decline in the sales of children’s book cannot be a reason for replacing it with an in-store café.

Even though there is an exact decline in the sales of children’s books and Book and Beans’ case is successful, it is doubtless whether opening an in-store café is a fitful decision for Monarch Books. The evidence of Book and Bean might not be enough for the business manager of Monarch Books to make the decision. Monarch Books is successful because its reader-friendly atmosphere and a wide selection of books while devoting space of children’s books to in-store café might destroy a quiet environment and gives up a significant part of customers. In the past time, parents who took their children here to buy would buy themselves some books. Without more assurances of the success of building in-store café, it cannot be ascertained to arbitrarily take the action.

Even if the decision to build the in-store café is practical for Monarch Books, it does not mean that Monarch Books can successfully gain profits from the in-store café. The cost of turning a part of the store into could be a huge impact on the profits gained by Monarch Books because it means decoration, purchasing new machines and hiring new employees. Besides, after building the in-store café, both two book stores will lose their biggest characteristics as a special book store attracting consumers. Moreover, Monarch Books might lose competence since Books and Beans is more familiar with this business mode. Hence, before the manager makes a comprehensive survey on how to gain exact profits from building the in-store café, it is an abruptly determination.

A quiet book store with various types of books might be the most suitable business model for Monarch Books while the announcement from Book and Beans is not the biggest challenge for the manager to increase the profits. As a result, some specific proofs should be released to better evaluate the argument. In that case, the argument will be more reasonable and convincing.