The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that Monarch book should open a coffee store by replacing the children's book space. To support this claim the author tries to give some evidence by mentioning about another book store, book and bean, survey findings of the percentage decrease in younger population and possible surge in profit, but these are not strong enough to reach into this decison. Though at first glance the decision seems alluring, but after perusing the writing the flaws are identified and how the flaws could have been ignored are illustrated.

First, the author assumes that Monarch book will be able to increase their profit if they open a cafe in their book store as Book and bean has done so. There is no clear indication that , after opening the cafe and book store at the same place, book and bean had a good profit.There might be more cost associating with managing two type of stores simultaneoulsy. Hence, it is not wise to take a decision based on this irrational thinking. MOnarch book store can open up a coffee store if it is found that, people are reluctant to visit a library if there is no cafe in it.

Furthermore, the author infers that the decline of young population in Collegeville will result into less child readers. It is not a logical thinking as the enthusiasm among the decreased younger population might be more significant than the children who are now adults. As the writing does not reflect any kind of survey result about the decreased predilection of book-reading among the children, the proposed idea cannot be implemented. Thus it will be extremely imprudent to replace the children's section of books by a cafe. What if the revenue is decreased after replacing the children's book section? Ambiguity in the claims of author is impeding the need for initiating a cafe in the monarch books.

Finally, the author posits that, if Monarch Books opens a cafe it will be able to supplant Book and Bean. The statement is not strengthened by any background information about the current rivalry between these two stores. The writer has not mentioned about any problem which Monarch books is facing for the establishment of the book and bean. By incoporating the possible competetion between these two companies the author could have made the argument more plausible and feasible. If it was clearly indicated that, monarch books has seen a drastic decline in their profit after the establishment of book and bean then this assumption might have been considered logical.

To recapitulate, I can concede that the proposal of opening a coffee shop along with existing book store, MOnarch cafe can get benefit if the earlier mentioned flaws are corrected as suggested above.