The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie addresses the drastic fall in the attendance of people to the movies produced by them this year, the memo also states on the contrary that there has been increase in the number of positive reviews and hence proposes to increase the budget for advertising. The director here makes this conclusion on a set of assumptions which need to be properly addressed.

The director reports an increase in the percentage of positive reviews of specific Super Screen movies , although this indicates that there was an increase in percentage for some Super Screen movies it fails to mention the overall response to the movies produced by them. there could have been an increase in positive response for some of them while a decline as a whole.

The Director also assumes that the reviews by movie reviewers are an accurate measure of the quality of the movie and also has a direct correlation with how the public perceives them , which could be flawed since there could be cases where the reviewers have acclaimed the movie as good but it failed to sway the audience and vice versa. Lastly the director when suggesting to allocate a greater share of budget to advertising fails to take into account if the reduced budget for other initiatives will lead to negative impact on the quality of the movies being produced, since an increase in greater share of budget to advertising is bound to cause a decrease in share for some other initiatives.

These assumption are critical in making the decision of whether to increase the budget of advertising to counteract the decline in attendance of their movies.