The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any ot

The advertising director of The Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests that the budget of advertising should be increased next year in order to be successful in attracting larger masses. This recommendation is based on the increase in positive reviews of certain movies that have been higher than that of any previous years. However, before this recommendation can be fully evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, are the positive movie reviews genuine and from the people who have actually seen the movie? In other words, what is the evidence that these movie reviews are not fake reviews or duplicate reviews by the same people? It is hard to believe that the number of positive reviews keep increasing even when the viewership is going down. Therefore, it is possible that the handful customers who come for the shows are forced by the staff to put up multiple positive reviews in order to attract and convince larger audiences to come. In that case, the conclusion drawn by this suggestion will not hold any water.

Moreover, are these "good quality" movies of actual interest to the public? In short, it may be possible that the subjects or genre of the movies priduced by Super Screen are not keeping up with current trends and interests of the people. The reviews are reflected only for certain movies, hence strengthening the case that majortity of the content does not appeal to the mass. Consequently, no amount of advertising will be successful in attracting audiences. It can also be the case that the movies, even though they have superior content, lack in sound effects, star cast or added features such as animations or VFX. Hence the customers might not see any value in investing time and money in obtaining a sub-par viewing experience. If any of these scenarios has any merit, then the answer to the problem is not simply advertising. A broader approach in terms of enhancement of content and/ or additional features must be taken to get people to attend the movies.

Lastly, is the audience preferring other mediums of entertainment as opposed to going to movie theatres? Admittedly, the Corona Virus pandemic has caused a paradigm shift is the way people consume content and view entertainment. It may be the case that the audiences now do not show much interest in physically going to theatres to watch movies on the big screen. It is possible that the audience have made a shift to OTT movies and series on platforms such as Netflix, which they can enjoy from the comfort of their own homes. This will, in fact, not be a problem limited to Super Screen Movie Production Company, and therefore would not be solved solely by increasing advertising expenses. Hence in this scenario, the recommendation will be siginificantly weakened.

In conclusion, this recommendation as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance of several unwarranted assumptions. If the advertising director is able to answer the above mentioned questions and provide evidence, perhaps in terms of a detailed study, then it will be possible to completely evaluate the viability of the recommendation to increase advertising budget for the next year.