"The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. "

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

In this argument, the speaker asserts that their internet services are helpful in increasing the profit for companies. To bolster this, the speaker cites that the sales of furniture depot had increased after the company employed the internet advertising company to help. However, the statement is tenuous in several aspects.

one of the major problem is the reliability of the 10 percent increase on furniture depot’s sales.

because the speaker’s main purpose is to promote his or her company and to attract more enterprises to use the internet service, it is entirely possible that the speaker lies about the data. Moreover, even though the number of transactions of the furniture’s company actually increased, it might happened because of other reasons. perhaps, the company made new designs for their product that attracted lots of new customers. perhaps, the prices of the furnitures were lower. thus, before ruling out all of the other possibilities mentioned above, it is unjustifiable to assume the internet service could help to increase profit.

The speaker provided no concrete data about the last year’s total sale. because the speaker does not provide the base number, it is unfair to assume that 10 percent increase is a significant improvement on the sales. it is possible that last year, furniture depot had encountered its lowest sales since their opening; if they only sold 100 products, 10 percent of it is only one, which is so trivial. even there was a remarkable jump in the last year’s profit, it does not mean the situation will be the same this year. it is possible that people stop trusting the internet advertisement since recent reports reveal that a number of online sellers hide the actual quality of their products by posting fake images and lying about the materials used. Therefore, a more comprehensive consideration is necessary before groundlessly trusting the speaker’s statement.

What’s more, the fact that profit is equal to revenue minus cost is ignored by the speaker. it is possible that the online advertising company charges a substantial amount for their services, which possibly costs more than a business can earn. Nevertheless the internet advertising company has been successful in increasing the profit for furniture depot, it will be unfair to assume that their service will also work for other companies in terms of pumping profitability.

In sum, the speaker's assertion is logically flawed and the evidence used is not well-supported. thus before making the conclusion that the internet services are potent in increasing profitability, one should carefully consider the reliability of the speaker’s proposition and think about differences between each business and assess the whether online advertising will be useful.