he following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

The author of this argument asserts that participating all employees of a company in the Easy Read Speed-Reading can increase productivity. To justify the recommendation the author cites the following result. This Course helps other companies’ employees to read 500-pages report in only two hours. Therefore, these employees can absorb more information in a single workday. In addition, the cost of this course is $500 per employee, while it benefits outweigh expenses. Scrutiny each of these factors, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to this recommendation.

First, base on the fact this course was faithful in other companies, the author infers that it can be beneficial for other company. However, it is quite possible that company involves in different businesses, so the reading fast is not useful for all of them. Indeed, this course is beneficial for newspapers and magazines, while it would not be effective in electronic companies. Without considering this possible scenario, the author cannot justifiably conclude that the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course can be useful for other businesses.

Second, the author claims that reading fast equal understanding more in a short time. However, it is not necessarily the case. Different people can comprehend reports in different time, and it depends on their talent, their education, or even the report subject. The educated employee can grasp more information faster that other employee. In fact, this course was useful for other companies because they have more educated employees, while this scenario is different for others company.

In the third place, the serious of problems of this argument arises from the scant statistical information. The author asserts that the cost of this course is low that its benefits, while we need more information about employees’ salary, company’s revenue. In fact, it is entirely possible that the expense a $500 per employee is costly for a small company that its totally revenue is $2000 per month. In short, since the argument relies on the limited information, I can not take the author’s final conclusion seriously.

Finally, the author mentions if all employees take part in this course, the company’s productivity will increase. Nevertheless, it is possible reading fast is not useful for plenty of employees because their job does not require reading reports. Hence, the company’s efficiency does not depend on reading fast reports, and spending money for it is not logically.

In sum up, the argument is logically flowed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the arguments must provide more information about company’s revenue, employees’ salary. In order to evaluate, it would better to know more about employees’ profiles.