Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested t

The evidence presented by the archaeological findings at the Kaliko Islands seems to suggest that the extinction of the large mammals species was solely caused by humans. It is tempting to conform to this conclusion, but further examination of the correlation between these facts and the presented hypothesis can also point to a different cause or causes behind the extinction event. In this sense, before jumping to superficial conclusions, it would be a good idea to examine alternative explanations for the evidences presented while also considering possible missing parts of the puzzle.

One of the evidences presented is the finding of sites containing significant quantities of fish bones. This has been linked to the fishing activity of the humans in Kaliko Islands and by extrapolation, it has been deducted that these tribes likely also hunted mammals. If this was true, it would be expected to encounter a number of sites containing buried mammals bones, but nothing in the evidences presented seems to suggest this, making the idea of an extended practice of hunting mammals very unlikely.

Another evidence is related to the finding of primitive tools like stone knives, which have been tied to the possibility of these being used in hunting activities. Although still plausible arms, knives seem like a poor weapon of choice to hunt large mammals. Considering the size of these animals, more specialized tools as bow, arrows or other thrown weapons make more sense. Also, there is no mention in the evidences to the finding of old excavations for traps, which is a common indicator of hunting activities.

Considering the above, if the humans didn't caused the extinction of the large mammals, what caused it then? It is possible that the disappearance of these species is linked to a plague that affected them directly or lower links in the feeding chain, causing the extinction of grass feeding animals and predators. The finding of large quantities of non buried mammal remains scattered across the islands or microbiological examination of soil, water and vegetation samples could confirm this theory. It is also possible that the hunting and fishing type of tribes eventually evolved into more agricultural oriented ones, which could, in turn, affect the forest that served as habitat for these large mammals, putting it's existence to an end. If archaeological findings eventually confirm agricultural activities in the same time frame of the mammals extinction, this could be a good basis for this theory.

The findings of stone knives and bone fish burials are not enough to confirm the hypothesis that hunting caused the extinction of the large mammals in the Kaliko Islands. More evidence is needed to confirm this, as there are still missing facts and alternative theories that could explain this disappearance