An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation by an international development organization is to increase the cultivation of a new breed of millet which is higher in composition of Vitamin A than already existing one. The recommendation is based on the studies revealing a deficiency of Vitamin A among people in impoverished nations of Tagus. The argument is not backed by sufficient data and records. Hence the implementation of such a practice might not lead to useful results.

The claim is that a new breed of millet high rich in vitamin A has been engineered. Since the breed is newer one, we do not know the results of its cultivation in the areas of Tagus. There can be differences in the weather requirements for the cultivation of the new breed of millet compared to the older one. Perhaps, the nations of Tagus may not have suitable weather or land conditions for the newer breed. Also, we cannot ascertain the efficacy of the new breed of millet high on the population of Tagus. It might happen that the results may not turn out that helpful in mitigating vitamin A deficiency in the people of Tagus.

Moreover, it is also likely that the farmers of those nation do not want to adapt the newer breed of millet. They might be reluctant to spend more money on the cultivation of newer breed of millet as it is stated that the cost of seeds for the newer breed is more. Hence we cannot predict the outcomes of adapting such recommendation in the nation. We cannot predict if the farmers of the nation will willingly accept the change. Had something been mentioned about how the people of the nation are excited for the change, or how some farmers have already adapted the change the argument have had a better plausibility.

It is stated that millet is a staple food in Tagus. This might be an overall data. It might happen that the nations of Tagus which are impoverished and lack in vitamin A do not consume millet as readily as other nations of the same country. So, even if a newer breed of millet is introduced, which is richer in vitamin A, it would not necessarily benefit in eradicating the vitamin deficiency in the impoverished nations. As those nations are not likely to consume millet on a large-scale. Also, even if they do consume millet it is not guaranteed that they will adapt the newer breed. OT might happen that the newer breed differ in taste which reduces its liking among the people. Hence, we cannot assure the adoption of newer breed of millet among the people, especially the impoverished ones.

The argument has made a recommendation to substitute a breed of millet in nations of Tagus by a new breed developed. It claims that this would help in reducing the vitamin deficiency among the people. But we understand from above mentioned points that the recommendation is not backed by strong evidence. Hence, the results of implementing the change cannot be ascertained to be as positive as they are claimed to be.