Last year PrepUp had record enrollment in their test prep courses, but yearly profits fell

by nearly 30 percent. To the contrary, TopPreparation had comparable enrollment to the year before,

with profits rising by approximately 20 percent. This discrepancy most likely results from

the fact that PrepUp teaches only live, in-person classes, which require expensive rental spaces

and teaching equipment. Although TopPreparation’s total enrollment remained unchanged, its online

enrollment increased by 50 percent, and online classes have a much lower overhead. In order to

address these issues of profitability in the coming year, PrepUp will begin offering online test prep courses.

The author proposed that PU should begin online test prep courses because it is more profitable. The author also presents some logical fallacies to bolster the prompt. However, the argument contains some critical flaws and will not accept if the argument fails to draw an accurate conclusion. For acquiring an accurate conclusion some assumption will adopt which helps to draw an accurate conclusion and moreover, some incorrect assumption will be rejected.

Firstly, the author presents that PU test prep courses yearly profit fell by nearly 30 percent whereas the TP's profit increased 20 percent. But, the problem is the author does not clearly state the total profit of the two courses. Without a total amount, it is difficult to identify whose profit is more. For instances, if PU's monthly amount is 10,0000 dollar and next year fell by 30 percent then the total amount will be 70000 dollars. Whereas, TP's earns 50000 dollars and increased profit 20 percent which is 60000 dollar. Moreover, the author did not state the total enrollment in the two courses.

The second issue the PU teaches only live, in person which is more expensive because it needs rental spaces and teaching equipment. But, how about TP? They also need a teacher, teaching equipment and one important fact is high-speed internet which is more expensive. Moreover, the internet is not available in all places. So, the author states are undermined in this case.

The third problem is TP's total enrollment remains unchanged and online enrollment increased by 50 percent whereas the online classes have lower in price. The main flaw is then how the profit will increase. For example, if the total enrollment is 500, the online enrollment before the year 200 and increased by 50 percent means 400 and other enrollment is 100. But, the price of the online class is lower than how the profit will increase. Another, the overall statistical data is calculated in the previous year. But, we know thing changes with time and it may be not applicable for the present year.

To conclude, the overall hypothesis is quite interesting but is not acceptable if the critical assumption is not corrected.

Moreover, the prompt required some information to validate the conclusion.