"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument suggests that all of the employees should take Easy Read Speed-Reading Course that could improve productivity based on some improvement reading speed from their employees. However, the argument is rife with holes and the relevant evidence has to be presented.

The author claims that Acme could benefit productivity from Speed-Reading Course because of the improvement from many other companies. It could be true that the background and the type of industry are identical to those companies. For instance, Both Acme and others are newspaper companies requiring high-speed reading techniques to correct the error in enormous articles of daily work. Still, the detailed background and industry type of Acme is unknown and the writer has to present. For example, Acme could be a petroleum company that requires highly advanced digging technologies to explore unexcavated oil rather than fast reading skills. Even if the employees take courses and do improve their reading speed, there is not anything beneficial to Acme. Thus, Acme is not going to benefit the advantage from courses. It is highly suggested for the author to offer detailed information about Acme to make the argument more cogent.

Additionally, the reporter also claims that it costs only little for each employee to take courses compared to the benefit which Acme gains. Nevertheless, the gained additionally productivity is unknown and the writer has to offer to show the future prediction of how much income from improved reading speed. It is possible that predicted annual productivity is only $100 because Acme is a diamond excavating company that generally doesn’t require fast reading skills, so there Acme is less likely to gain benefit from them. Therefore, the author needs to present credential evidence of financial prediction after courses.

Besides, the author suggests that there are some prominent cases after Easy Read Speed-Reading Course, one could read 500-pages report in 2 hours and the other get promotion from assistant manager to vice president. For the first case, however, the detailed of how much the first person learns from the content in 500-page is unknown. A probable explanation is that one could just fast scan over the article and don’t remember the detailed of the content of that book. The achievement or the effect from Judging merely on the reading speed is not fair and judicious. Therefore, the author has to offer detailed information about how much the candidate absorbs from the book. Also, the practical condition underlying the other case is that he is the son of the president of that company and that’s why he could be promoted so much fast than anyone in the company and the promotion has nothing to with fast reading skills he learned from courses. Thus, the author needs to offer a detailed relationship of the candidate and the achievement of what he has done in the company so that readers could understand the relationship between promotion and reading speed.

In conclusion, readers can’t believe the argument unless the evidence mentioned above is presented.