In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is based on several fallacious assumptions and fails to provide substantive evidences to support them. It unwarrantingly assumes that increasing tax incentives and organizing a campaign will attract Autotech, which in turn will alleviate the serious unemployment problem that the town currently faces. Without answering several important questions, however, all these assumptions cannot be proven.

First of all, the argument assumes as long it is able to arrange a large campaign and offer significant tax incentives, Autotech will be interested in it. But we need to ask, are people really interested in an unknown company just when another reliable company just abandoned them? Are all these unemployed people prosperous enough so they can manage the taxes without having any effect on their day to day life? Even when all of these are possible, will autotech really be inerested in them? All of these question hinges on the fact that the town is currently in serious unemployment problem and needs to get out of that before it can think of these otherwise grandiose alternatives.

Secondly, we have the information that Computech, a conputer software company abandoned its national facility last year. Several questions come to mind. Why did they leave? Was the area not suitable for their business? Maybe, they had trouble in their shipment of supplies from their other branches. The way to the town might have been laden with problems. Again, one might ask, why did they abandon all of these workers? Were they competent for the job or not? If it turned out that the people of the town are generally under average when it comes to their competency for Computech they might just be equally if not more unqualified for the jobs in Autotech. Thus a dispassionate survey accounting for the reason behind Computech's abandonment and the general competency of the town's people should be done to answer all these unanswered riddles.

Finally, the Hillview landfill is undeveloped for decades, meaning that Computech took no initiative to improve its condition. Also, Computech and Autotech, despite their uncanny similarity in names, are two very different companies as the latter deals with cars and is a giant manufacturer. We need to ask, will Autotech be interested in spreading their business to a place where several developments are needed to be made before it can burgeon. Again, Autotech might have its own tested and trusted bunch of employees and they might only recruit them by rigorous examination and only after rigorous training, they are employed. If it turned out that Autotech isn't interested in employing staff from the town, the argument's assumption that the town's unemployment problem will be solved as long as they can attract Autotech's attention will prove to be outright wrong.

Therefore, several questions about the current state of the town's developmentand, it's people's prosperity, interest and competences as well as the reason of Computech's leave and the employment criteria of Autotech needs to be answered before we can reach a definitive conclusion and until these questions are answered properly, the argument remains severely undermined because of the spurious reasonings presented.