"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The passage comes to a conclusion that the prohibition of skateboarding in Central Plaza will bring about an increase in the number of shoppers. It supports this conclusion by stating that the business in the Plaza has been steadily decreasing with the increase in popularity of skateboarding. It then relates the growing number of vandalism and litter to the number of skateboard users, indirectly stating these users as the reason for the same.

However, one cannot connect the two events, the number of skateboard users and the increase in vandalism, together without adequate evidence to support the premise. The passage fails to do so. Besides, the litter and vandalism itself might be a standalone reason for the decrease in the number of shoppers irrespective of who was responsible for it, skateboarders or otherwise. If the previous sentence was true, the decrease in the shoppers might be the reason why the number of skateboarders in the Plaza increased in the first place, which is counterintuitive to what is stated in the passage. As a result, prohibiting skateboarding will not have any significant effect on the number of people who visit the Plaza for shopping. Moreover, if a proportion of skateboarders are also shoppers, this might lead to a further decrease in business of the store owners.

Hence, it must be determined which of the two, the increase in vandalism or the number of skateboarders, is responsible for the decrease in the number of shoppers. The contribution of the skateboarders, to the current business within the Plaza should also be evaluated to figure out the nature of impact the skateboarders have in the current business of the store owners. With respect to what was stated in the above paragraph, the current business scenario of the store owners may exists only due to the skateboarders in the area.

Therefore, before prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaza, each of the various events under consideration (skateboarding, littering, vandalism and overall business) must be categorised into the cause and effect of the conclusion. Only then the result of the action that is suggested to be taken can be predicted accurately.