"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

To start with, viewers complaints are undoubtedly an important aspect in analyzing the performance of the late-night news program. But along with that, many other aspects are there that play a prominent role in determining the performance of the news program.

The news program company should first of all conduct a survey of their viewers. Find out the number of people that watch the program and the kind of people that watch the program. With this information, they can determine what should get more devoted time - national news, or weather and local news. This information can also help them gain more advertising revenue as it may attract more viewers specific local businesses to advertise their products.

Assuming that a late-night program is viewed only by adults generalizes all the adult viewers. They first should determine what kind of adults watch their news program. For example, if the majority of their viewers are women, they should focus on that aspect and invite local businesses that sell feminine products to advertise on their late-night news program. They can also focus more the complaints from the women and try and solve them first. This way, they won't lose any audience and can regain the advertising revenue maybe also increasing their viewership.

Again, if the survey shows that majority of the viewers are fan of sports, they can devote increased time to sports news and less time to weather and other news. Similarly, if the majority of their audience is more concerned with staying healthy, they can invite local businesses that sell the relevant products that the majority of the audience is actually interested in. This way, the local businesses can get more sell and would be more willing to advertise their products on the late-night news program.

To conclude, the argument provided by the business manager stating that they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level based merely on the viewers complaints, though true to some extent, is not wise considering the overall performance of the news program and the viewers of the program. They should consider other important aspects stated in this essay to determine what amount of time should be devoted to what kind of news.