A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The argument claims that a pet food company has tested the samples of recalled pet food to verify if the pet food is the reason for the illness of pets that have consumed the pet food. But, test results turned out to be positive and chemicals in the samples are approved to be used in pet food. Stated in this way argument fails to mention several key factors, which could be used to evaluate the argument. the conclusion that company should not spend its resources for further investigation is superficial and it needs to consider several factors while coming to such a conclusion. Therefore, argument is weak, flawed and is not persuasive.

First argument readily assumes that recalled food is from the same region where the company is getting lot of complaints. There is no explicit evidence to support this fact. To illustrate, it could be possible that company is multinational, it is receiving complaints from India. But, food collected is from Canada. One cannot deny the fact that food in India might have got contaminated while the food in Canada is completely edible. In such cases testing the Canadian samples will yield positive results. But entire process does not make sense. Therefore, if argument explicitly stated that it has tested the food from region from where it is getting complaints then it would have been more convincing.

Second, there is no mention regarding the target pets for which the food is prepared. For example, if the food is designed mainly for dogs and it has some chemicals that could be allergic if used for some other pets like cats. Also, the amount of food that owner is feeding his pet should also be considered. Argument would have been more convincing if it has answers to these questions.

Third, the argument has not given any information regarding the sample space that is been used for testing. Even though, it has recalled four million pounds, it might be using 4 milligrams for testing which may not produce correct results. Also there is no evidence that if food has not exceeded the expiry date. Without answering these questions company falsely concludes that test conducted by them is accurate and it should not spend any further resources to investigation. Clearly, conclusion is fallacious and without answering above questions one is left with wishful thinking that test conducted by company is accurate.

In summary, argument is flawed. Because, it fails to mention several key factors which are crucial for evaluating the soundness of the argument. While assessing the merits of a situation it is essential to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors. Without answering above mentioned questions, argument is weak and is open to debate.