Read the statement and the instructions that follow it, and then make any notes that will help you plan your response. Begin typing your response at the bottom of the screen. You have 30 minutes in which to complete the essay.

"The term 'couch potato' may seem harmless, but television watching has been shown to shift mental activity from higher brain regions to lower ones. That is because TV is a one-way medium, reducing one's tendency to engage and interact. Using a computer, on the other hand, is a two-way activity that encourages interaction. Since many television watchers report feeling sluggish and even sleepy after several hours' viewing, it is clear that switching off the TV and switching on the computer will result in increased energy, brain activity, and mental sharpness."

Discuss how well-reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion, be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

Watching television being one-way medium, reduces one’s ability to interact and engage. On the other hand, using computers being two-way activity results in increased activity and sharpness. Stated this way the argument fails to refer to several essential factors, on which the it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies on assumption, for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

Firstly, the author states that watching television being one-way activity, reduces one’s ability to interact and engage. From the above argument stated by the author one comes to logical deduction that that the activity of watching is one way medium and the main reason for the reduced interaction and engagement. Instead the author renders the entire blame on the television without understanding that the activity is the main reason. Based on this erroneous understanding the author further goes on to state that mere shifting from television to the computers would solve the problem. The argument could have been clearer if the author explained how switching to computers would make the activity of watching an interactive activity.

Secondly, the argument readily assumes that watching television reduces ability to interact and engage. The only evidence it provides is that television is one way medium. Clearly this reason is not sufficient to establish a link between reduced ability to interact and engage and watching television. Because though being one way medium, watching television is a great activity to increase one knowledge about various subject. Which helps in increased confidence and knowledge to interact and engage. Watching television can be great medium to learn to communicate which would rather help in interacting and engaging. Similarly, author provides no evidence on how using computers would make one more interactive and sharper other than it being two-way activity. Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In sum, the author's illogical argument is based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. The author with all the evidence provided, logically points the reason of the cause towards the activity of watching television rather than the device television. If the author truly hopes to change his readers' minds on the issue, he would have to largely restructure his argument, fix the flaws in his logic, clearly explicate his assumptions, and provide evidentiary support. Without these things, his poorly reasoned argument will likely convince few people.