A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Mor

The argument states that a new captain seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable, based on the premise that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent and most of the families in Bay City do not have a propensity towards home-cooked meal. The argument fall short of being cogent, and is rife with loopholes and assumptions.

The argument does not state the credibility of the sales study. It does not give into details of what was the motivation behind the study, the size of the study group, or whether the sample taken was representative of the whole group. Even if we neglect these fallacies, there is vague representation of the result given by the study. The study proposes that the seafood consumption has increased by 30 percent in last five years, but study does not tell the actual percent of dishes which are seafood dishes. It might be the case that seafood dishes were such a small part of total dishes served in Bay City restaurants that even after increasing by 30 percent, it does not amount to be a profitable venture. This might explain why there still no restaurant specialising in seafood, as although, popularity of sea food is increased, but its still not at a profitable scale.

In addition to this study, argument also site another nation wide study. This study also falls short of citing any credibility. It is left ambiguous whether Bay City is a average case or is a outlier of the study. It might the case the families in Bay City might still like home-cooked food and are being averaged out in nation wide study because other cities which have higher proclivity to other food sources. Moreover, it is not stated what are these other food sources. They might actually be something entirely different than restaurants, for example it could be pre cooked food. Hence, this study falls short of proving that whether Bay City families will favour going to restaurant instead of some other source of their daily diet. Moreover, even if they choose restaurants, choice is seafood is pretty far-fetched.

Finally, the nation wide supports the claim that people are moving towards healthier food choices but it is not stated any where whether seafood is healthier food choice. Seafood might less healthier than other alternatives, in which case, it will be actively avoided by most families.

In conclusion, it seems the above fallacies needs to be answered before considering opening a seafood exclusive restaurant in Bay City.