A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Mor

At first glance, the given argument offers a reasonable explanation for why a new Captain Seafood restaurant would be popular and profitable in Bay City. Upon closer inspection, numerous questions arise about the details supporting information provided. The argument might be sound, but a conclusion cannot be reached without first addressing these issues.

First, the author makes assumptions about seafood consumption in Bay City that require additional support. He cites a trend indicating that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City has increased by 30 percent in the past five years. To be a true indication of a strong market for seafood in Bay City, the author would need to provide data about the initial seafood consumption rates in Bay City. It is possible that few people consumed seafood before and the rise is negligible, but an increase in an already strong market would provide meaningful support to his argument.

Furthermore, the author also cites the mere absence of seafood restaurants to imply a potential niche for such an establishment in the city, raising questions about the current supply of seafood. What remains unclear is where the citizens are currently eating seafood, and whether they are satisfied with the current providers. If citizens are content with the quality of seafood provided by restaurants currently present in Bay city, Captain Seafood might not have sufficient draw to produce the level of profit promised by the author.

Finally, the given argument raises several questions about a nationwide survey used to characterize the residents of Bay City. The author uses Bay City’s high population of two-income households and a nationwide survey to suggest they will eat fewer home cooked meals and be concerned with healthy eating. It is unclear what demographics were used to produce these results, as the two-income households in Bay City could deviate significantly from the national correlations. Even if these correlations hold, it remains unclear that they indicate a desire for seafood restaurants. While two-income families eat fewer home-cooked meals on average, it is unclear from the survey wording that they do not prefer takeout or precooked meals from grocery stores to eating at restaurants. Likewise, the national trends suggest that these families are more health conscious, but it is unclear that seafood would be viewed as a healthy alternative.

The argument provided supports its conclusion in favor of a Captain Seafood restaurant with claims that raise more questions than they answer. Without further details about the data used, opening a new Captain Seafood restaurant cannot be justified with this statement alone.