A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer has concluded that the new Captain seafood (cs) restaurant will be successful based on evidence presented. However, the discussion is rile with gaps and it is not cogent enough.

The first point made by the article is that seafood is becoming popular in Bay City (bc) since its demand in restaurants has increased by 30% in last 5 years. but before could consider this as positive indicator, we need to understand the exact root cause. In last five years people have begun liking or preferring seafood for it taste or benefits or it is because these restaurant are offering some discount packages which make them affordable option. if latter is the case, then cs management must think it on those lines as well. will they be able to match the prices and still maintain to stay above the breakeven?

The next support statement presented by the author is that most families in bc dine out but are concerned on maintaining healthy diet. At this stage we need to understand what proportion of fisher lovers are in this group since they will be target market of cs. Also, we need to understand if the all members of the families have become inclined towards seafood or just parents or teenagers and if children are left out. these details are important to determine if the entire family unit would prefer to eat at seafood specialist restaurants or would they prefer to eat at general places where each family member could order based their likes and dislikes. Additionally, we need some further details to build on what is significance of seafood in terms nutrients from perspective of an average bc citizen. if it is taken to be as healthy and important option as it?

cs could be a new good option for bc to turn to in terms of taste and health. but, before we can establish that cs will turn out be profitable business in bc, more information is required to be analyzed.