A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author comes to a conclusion that the new Captain Seafood restaurant is quite popular and profitable in Bay City based on a sales study of the consumption of seafood dishes and the majority of the famalies in Bay City are two-income families who prefer to eat heatly food outside as found out by a national survey. However, before the author's judgement can be properly evaluated, one requires following pieces of evidence.

Firstly, how was the sales survey designed to capture the trends in Bays city? The author does not provide any details of the sales study that can help one evaluate the soundness of its findings. There is possibility that the sample size chosen for the study it too small to capture the behavior of the sales. Further, it is possible that the chosen sample is biased and includes only those restaurents that primarily serve seafood. If either of the scenarios has any merit, then the author's conclusion that Captain Seafood restaurant has a lucrative business does not hold water.

Secondly, the author mentions that the sales study found a 30% percent increase in the sales of seafood dishes. However, he fails to mention the absolute number of sales to substantiate his argument. For instance, the revenue for the seafood was only 100 dollars five years ago and a 30 percent would increase that revenue to 130 dollars which accounts to a paltry increase in the revenue. If the above case turns out to be true. the author's argument is significantly weakened. Thus, one requires to know the increase in sales in terms of absolute numbers rather than in percentages.

Moreover, the author fallaciosly generalizes the findings of a national survery to Bay city. Is the behavior of the families in Bay City similar to that of the nation? In other words, can the behavioral pattern observed nationally be used to judge the behavior of the families in Bay City? Perhaps, the eating habits of the folks in Bay City are remarkably different from rest of the nation - preferring home cooked food rather than eating outside. Or the nationwide survey is misleading as there is a possibility of negating regional variations in the eating habits. Therefore, the author needs to provide evidence in his argument that implies the above scenrios are not the case. Or else, the author's conclusion is untenable if the above cases turn to be true.

To recapitulate, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as it does not provide enough evidence to soundly evaluate the conclusion of the author. One would be in a better position to appraise profitability of Captian Seafood restaurant if the author can provide further pieces of evidence that facilitates equitable evaluation of the argument.