A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The author propounds that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay because children in suburban areas of United States have higher level of tooth decay compared to children in mountain region of Nepal inspite of fact that people in suburban United States see a dentist at average of 1.25 per year compared to little or no dental care received by Nepalese people. Although this explanation seems reasonable but there are other explainations too that can plausibly account for the facts presented.

My first explaination is based on flaws in the method of study on basis of which facts were generated. It is possible that size of examined population was very small and accidentally the population with lower level of tooth decay were not part of study of US suburban people. Another explaination can be that the children examined in the US were of younger age i.e they had milk teeth and nepalese children examined were of age after milk teeth are replaced by better ones.

Another explanation is based on discord between the facts presented. The recmmendation that regular dental care is of no use because US suburban children had higher level of tooth decay can not be concluded on basis of a data about dentist visit be 'Public' in general. So, the possible explaination can be that children of US suburban areas also recieve less or negligible dental care and most of the population that visit dentist is adult. Now but this very explanation can be refuted as one might argue that the recommendation leads to conclusion of equal level of tooth decay and fails to answer the disparity. This question can be answered by considering the possibilty that nepalese children eat food which is less harmful to teeth as compared to that eaten by US suburban children.

Last but not the least, the explaination that the dentist which are visited by the US suburban children are not good and their prescription is harmful rather than being benign, or if the dentist are good, a possibility that children do not follow the prescription can not be ruled out.

No solution, including the one presented by author can be advocated as completely correct or wrong. The possible explaination depend on the accuracy of study on which facts are based and various stated and unstated assumption. The facts need to be explained in more detail to conclude aa better explanation.