A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the statement the author came to a coclusion that the regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. This colclusion is reached by comparing the lesser tooth decay in the children of Nepal with children from the suburban areas of the United States. But this conclusion is based on some faulty reasoning and assumptions which needs further scrutiny.

Here the author said that the children of Himalayan mountain region have lower level of tooth decay comapring to the children in the US. This might occur from the food habit each region has. We know that many food has acidic reaction to the tooth, which harms the enamel layer of the tooth. It is possible that the children from the US are having more fast foods and chocolates, which are known to be bad for their acidity, thus require going to the dentist more frequently than the children in Nepal. This is also possible that going to the dentists actually helps them to prevent more rapid decay.

Also, like any other human organ, the tooth is also get affected by the environment. As the Himalayan mountain region is one of less polluted region, it is possible that the enviorment actually helps in reducing the tooth decay. On the other hand, it is possible that the environment in the suburban areas are casuing more decay of the tooth of the children. Also, the claim here is that the average of going the dentist is 1.25 times per year. It is possible that children from more polluted area went to doctor more than the children from areas which has similar qualities of environment like the Himalayan region. This does not readily dismiss the necessity of the regular dental care.

Furthermore, the author claimed here that the regular dental care is not helpful by saying the frequent going to the dentist. This higher frequency could have caused by more easy availability and the health conciousness of the people in the US. Again, we know that baby tooth regrows after they fall for the first time. It is possible that the baby tooth are most susceptible to decay but the adult tooth are not. By comaparing the decay of just the children tooth, one should not dismiss the necessity of regular dental care. It might be helping to keep the health of the adult tooth.

Although the reasoning of the authors sounds compelling, we cannot make a definite decison on whether the regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. there might be other factors in play, which could account for the decay and the regular dental care helps byt preventing them to become more severe.