A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The statement claims that the regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay by contrasting between the children of nepal and those of suburban united states. it does so by citing that on an average, people in U.S. visits dentist 1.25 times a year whereas those in nepal gets minimal or no dental treatment still, the children of nepal are less affected by the problems related to teeth. there may be various alternative explanations in which one can state that the conclusion that is drawn in the statement is wrong.

The first ambiguity in the data provided is that the author have not considered the effect of climatic conditions and the natural diet of the people living in seemingly different environment. The climatic conditions in himalayan region are quite different than that in the U.S. also, quality of water used for drinking and the diet that is exercised by the people of himalayan regions may be more suitable for strong teeth than that of the people living in the united states. Further, it might be the case that children of the U.S. lacks diet rich in vitamins and minerals required for strong teeth which cannot be satiated by just visiting dentist 1 or 2 times a year or maybe they do not follow dentist's recommendations.

The author also uses confusing terms like "lower level" and "little to no professional care". it might be the case that the number of children complaining dental problems in the U.S. might be more than those in nepal but the percentage of children complaining of such an issue in the U.S. may be almost comparable or even less than that of nepal. In such a case conclusion drawn by the author is completely contradictory to actual circumstances.

The other ambiguity is author's strong conclusion based on only one statistical data. it might be the case that there is sampling error in the statistics reproduced. Often, data from one or more sources is required to draw such a strong conclusion for the country as large as U.S.

SOne may draw the conclusion about the efficacy of frequent visit to a dentist in prevention of teeth related problems if additional statistics is provided. Moreover, climatic conditions, Culture as well as diet of both the regions should be effectively accounted for while drawing such a conclusion.