A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Conclusion of the argument in the given excerpt is not well supported by evidence mentioned in it. There is lacune in this derived conclusion. One can not conclude just by giving one or two points about something. There should be critical analysis to reach the final result

At first, the statement given is not well supported by the data. Statistical information supports the statement, here is it mentioned that on an average childern in US visits dentist, but it not bolstered by other information like, for how many children are there in the test group, or data is collected from which area. As it is well understood that our society has certain economical levels, people who are well to do can afford a dentist visit but on the other hand who are just survining on hand to mouth basis, not able to afford the dental care. Hence, this piece of information lacks such type of basic and relvant specifications. Also, the author did not mention any details about the data collected from suburban areas of Himalaya region, like for how many participants were there or whether data is collected from children of well to do families or from slum areas, where people are extremely poor.

Secondly, in city life, children are prone to eat artificial sugar food items, like candies, ice-creams, cakes and a few others. So it might be a possibility that after having such sugary food items they do not pay enough attention to clean their teeth. Though it seems a very basic task but it plays an important role in the maintenance of oral hygiene. May be children are not paying much attention to such habits and parents are also reluctant on this part. Also, people living in suburban areas are very conscious for their diets, as they include different vegetables and fruits in it. Also, they have an ample amount of time to prepare delicious dishes. whereas, in the U.S people are living on the edge of the cloak. They skip their meals and are less contious about themselves and their food.

Thirdly, it is scientifically proven that natural resources play important role in the health of localities. For example, usually water content in Himalaya region may consist of certain natural compound or element which provides the strength to their teeth and gums. By unknowingly, people living in that area are maintaining a good oral health just be mere drinking the water. SImilarity, in the U.S from the area from where we took a sample for our study may not contain some content in water which affecting their oral health. Natural resources contain such contents are difficult to supplant from artificial ones. One best example for this, is the bottled water we are consuming on a regular basis, lacks certain micronutrients. Though, they seem insubstituent but play a vital role in our normal body functioning. But due to lack of these contents, we face critical consequences in near future.

Finally, the conclusion so provided by the author in the excerpt could be analyzed once again with consideration of the above mentioned arguments