A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that the adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they frequently had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also reported that they had felt sad, down or blue, at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

In this report the author argues that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online. this argument is based on a survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 5 and how adults who spend more than 30 hours a week online tend to show more behaviour of depression. however, this argument is rife with assumptions and several pieces of evidence are critical to evaluating the argument.

Firstly, the survey did not take in account the symptoms of commonly associated with depression before the survey began, thus the state of mind of the subject is questionable and hence there is no platform of comparison that increasing the hours spend online will lead to depression. however, if the survey initially began with inspecting symptoms of depression of the 250 adults before exposing them to hours spending online, that could give a crystal clear evidence of link between hours spend online and depression.

Then, the author stated adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they frequently had trouble concentrating. but, the author provided no evidence that adults who displayed low concentrating abilities at the end of the survey were good at controlling their concentration prior to the survey. Furthermore, the author mentioned that 20 percent of adult spending 30 hours per week felt sad at least 3 times within the past month, but there could be many other personal or professional reasons behind sadness of a person.

Finally, the author concluded that to lead a depression free life, people should spend less time online, but the author only conducted the survey for the age group of 30-45 and hence it does not provide any evidence for people with different age groups. if the author were to conclude that, he/she must expand the field of the survey.

Thus, evaluating this argument requires several critical pieces of information The author failed to provide a platform to compare the variation of symptoms of depression before and after exposing the subjects online, it also provides no evidence for people not falling in the 30-35 age group. Without above mentioned information, they conclusion falls to the risk of criticism and questions the reasoning or evaluation methods of the author.