A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that the adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they frequently had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also reported that they had felt sad, down or blue, at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

According to the survey, it is said that depression is caused by spending a lot of time online. this assertion is based on the rate of people that complained of being sad and a report of another category said to have difficulty with focus. The conclusion is likely to be determined by some unwarranted assumptions which if true will render it baseless. the following are there questions explaining the holes in this argument.

firstly, is the survey for the specific number of adults a representative of the entire population? it is possible that the carried out analysis is alienated to a specific group of people and perhaps majority of those that filled it were people with underlying issues such as been lugubrious, lacking concentration and always feeling down. if this is so, the assertion does not hold water.

secondly, is the reason for the time spent on the internet analysed? that is, the rate of moment spent on the world wide web determined to be sure if it is for personal reasons, work, recreation or business? it is probable that the moment used for surfing the net is for fun and adventurous activities that can enlighten a 'down' mood or make someone happier and more fulfilled. it is also possible that the time spent on the net is for money making activities or work that requires lot of focus to get profitable results. if this evaluation is true, time spent on the internet might be for fun redndering the assertion that taking more time on the internet brings about depression is not true.

Thirdly, is being sad for about 3 times for the past month a basis for depression? to emhasize, is being down and loosing concentration a major determinant of depression. it is possible that other factors might contribute to that low state like low income, death of a loved one, trouble at work, illness or stressful day. also, it might be that the 20% people that listed been sad in their survey has been facing issues beyond their comprehension and probably surfing the net to get possible solutions and panacea. if so, the conclsusion is invalid.

The aforementioned questions has to be evaluated and answered constructively, also the survey should be carried out with a more scientific approach reaching out to wide number of adults. if this is done, the assertion might be evaluated to affirm if it can be credible.