To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate.

A memo which has written by the director of student housing of Buckingham college has argued due to three reasons as increase in the number of students in following years, increase in rents of off-campus houses and more probability to attract new students, the college should provide new buildings as dormitories for students to serve some needs for students, but the argument and reasons of the author of the memo are not persuasive and there should be some evidence provided to evaluate the argument verifiability.

Evidence that should be provided at the first step is about the probability of the increase in the number of students as double and the relationship between the number of students and the need of dormitories. If there are no such evidence which could show a firm relationship between the number of students and dormitories so it won’t be a good reason to build new dormitories for students. Due to some probabilities, the provided reason of the author is not compelling like there is no statistical information about economic and financial situation of students in following years, because maybe in 10, 20 or 50 years later the financial condition of students is so good that they don’t want to hire a room in dormitories. Also, no data has provided about the number of students who will be accepted to the college in following years. There is a possibility that in following years, an attitude of students become varied and they prefer to not continuing their educations in higher degrees, so they won’t need any dormitories. Or in converse, maybe the number of students in following fifty years exceeds the double and new dormitories also won’t be enough for them.

The second reason of the author about the higher rents of apartments is not convincing because the previous reason of the author is extended to following fifty years, but the second one is limited to the recent year and at least there is no evidence about the rents of apartments in 50 years later. Maybe financial situation of country change in a decade later toward good conditions without a noticeable increase in rents and as a result, students could be able to hire apartments which are in the city and could provide entertainments, life’s necessities and better living condition for students in comparison to the dormitory. Therefore, in a long run, maybe students alter their attitude due to the better financial situations to live in apartments rather than dormitories.

Furthermore, the author has argued that by building new dormitories they could attract more students to their college although it could be a way to attract prospective students, but it is not compelling due to the fact that the best students are always seeking to find best facilities, biggest libraries, highly technological laboratories, huge computer center and ease of studying by being disciple of well-known professors. Therefore, maybe it is better to make high ranked college by providing advanced facilities to attract students. Author has to show evidence that just by building a dormitory and without providing best professors or books’ source; they can attract students to their college.

To sum up, the director of the student housing should provide more information about the probability of his/her argument to result in his/her wished conclusion. Information which could also fulfill weakness of his/her present argument about building new dormitories.