"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The argument is based on several fallacious assumpions and fails to provide substantive evidences to justify them. Primarily, it makes the unwarranted assumption that what happened to a species of one place is likely to have the same effect of the biodiversity of another place and on a different kind of species, rendering the main conclusion, that not allowing the road to be built will ensure the region's biodiversity, invalid.

First and foremost, the tufted groundhogs and Sea Otters are two very different species. Judging by their name, we can safely assume one of them lives on the ground while the other makes the sea its habitat. Therefore, what happens to one by no way ensures that the same is going to happen to the other. May be, the repeal of the sanctuary in Eastern carpenteria allowed more business corps and industries to be built whose wastes made the nearby waters more polluted and less habitable for the sea otters who had no choice but to either die or migrate to another place. This thing should have no effect on the groundhogs who lives in the ground and possibly far away from the sea shore thus weakening the argument. Had we any information that the groundhogs needed that same sea water for their survival, then maybe we could prove that the repeal of the sanctuary might have endangered the groundhogs. Even then, we'd have to prove that the repeal in another place would cause the waters to be similarly dangerous and thus affect the groundhogs as they did the sea otters.

Secondly, although they are neighbors, West Lansburg and Eastern carpeteria are not identical. Therefore, what happend to one might not mirror what is going to happen to the other. May be West Lansburg is situated in a place which is home to a turbulent waves while Carpenteria is in a place with mostly calm, serene waters. Thus, Lansburg can wash away people's thrown junk or industrial wastes which is not possible in the case of Carpenteria. Thus what will make the repeal of the sanctuary dangerous to carpenteria might just tickle the biodiversity of Lansburg and in some cases have no effect at all. If the argument provided concrete evidence making sure that the two places are extremely similar in its environment as well as its biodiversity, the argument could be further strengthened.

Finally, the information sources on which the main conclusion is based seems spurious. That the groundhogs once numbered in millions is derived from ancient records. Additionally, the sea otter population decline happened in 1978. Now in 2004, 26 years from 1978, the geographical states of the two locations might have dramatically changed. Moreover, The argument never specifies what the relation is between the repeal of the sanctuary and the sea otter decline at all. If it turned out that the sea otter declined due to a contagious disease or had to leave their then habitat due to lack of foods or resources, then the arguments assumption that the sanctuary repeal caused the sea otters to decline would be seriously weakened. This will further make sure that the repeal would have no effect on the fallacious assumption of the decline of the groundhogs and thus further weakening the argument's claims.

In conclusion, the argument makes several unattested assumtions about the cause of the decline, the similarities between two distinctively different places and species of animals and until further evidence is provided, these assumptions severely undermine the argument presented.