Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

In this argument, author showed contradiction results about child rearing practice in Tertia Island and recommended further investigation based on interview-centered method to obtain actual result. At a first glance, it seems the argument might be well justified but a careful scrutiny reveals its logical flaws and ill-terminology.

First of all, to confirm about child-rearing practices, author compared two different observations which is not conducted at same time. With the passage of time, a society might be changed as well different culture or practices will be introduced. So, actual results never come out unless investigation will conducted at a same time. Similarly, investigation method is an important thing which sometimes may vary the final result. Here, Dr. Field followed observation-centered approach to reach his findings in opposite side DR. Karp used interview-centered method. Such kind of variation in research methodology never finds out actual scenario.

Secondly, to bolster Dr., Karp results, author provided evidence that children spent more time to talk about their biological parents rather than other adults in that village. This type of evidence never ensures that Dr. Field result was invalid. Normally children would like to talk about their parents. There is no clear evidence against child rearing practice.

Last of all, some anthropologists recommended that future research should be conducted to solve this issue via interview-centered method. Here, they actually show biasness about one approach. Perhaps, to obtain real scenario, another method should be followed as well different important factors which are ignored in this two given approaches must include like percentage of child-rearing children and its main reason, economical condition of their parents and entire village's people, population density in this area, outside scenario of the village etc.

Finally, the argument would be more comprehensive if author provides necessary information which is marked above. Weak comparisons make this argument poor. To bolster it further, author must conducted a fruitful survey which can make it clear.