‘Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.’

The argument states that the presence of "Palean" baskets in Lithos indicates that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. This assertion is based on a few supporting claims which need to substantiated to stregthen this argument. For this purpose, further information is required to test the veracity of these claims.

Firstly, it is claimed that the Brim River separating Palea and Lithos is unpassable. More information is surely required to give weight to this claim. Evidence is required on the perenniality of the river, whether it flowed deep and broad all throughout the year. In case it did not the argument will be significantly weakened as it could explain how the baskets moved from Palea to Lithos. Evidence on other possible ways of crossing the river is also required. There was probably a bridge to cross the river which has since been destroyed. Similarly, there might have been Palean boats to commute to and from across the river but they have been destroyed since then. Evidence is required on whether the villagers of Lithos had any boats which they used to cross the river and reach Palea. It can be true that the villagers of Lithos, rather than Palea, were equipped with modes of transport and these modes were used to visit Palea and bring the baskets to Lithos. In case there is strong evidence suggesting such scenarios the argument will be significantly weakened.

Secondly, evidence is required on the possible transfer of information regarding basket weaving from Palea to Lithos. It is possible that a few villagers were able to migrate to Lithos in search of work or food and also took with them the art of basket weaving which was distinctly Palean. There might also be other way of passing over this skill through communication via scrolls or letters. Even if there was no way for villagers of Palea and Lithos to go to each other's village, there might have been another village accessible by both Paleans and Lithosians which could have been a meeting point for exchange of ideas. Alternatively, the Palean baskets found in Lithos might have originally come from Palea itself but in a roundabout manner travelling through various villages. Hence, information regarding accessability of Palea from other villages is required. Evidence showing the various villages with which Paleans and Lithosians were in contact is required in order to arrive at a possible network throught which the Palean baskets ended up in Lithos. In case there is no such network, the argument will be strengthened in its claim that the baskets found in Lithos are, in fact, not uniquely Palean.

In order to prove the veracity of the argument presented, additional information regarding the topography of the region, the internal network of villages, possible migration, and other modes on transfer of information is required. Only then will the argument be effective in its claim that the baskets found in Lithos are not uniquely Palean.