Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Since there were other similar baskets found in areas that are out of reach for the Palean people, the author deduced that the origin of the “Palean” baskets is not solely Palean. Yet, the deduction relies on assumptions, for which there is no clear evidence; therefore, the argument is flawed.

The author assumes that the only way, diverse communities across both riversides could reach each other, was to cross the Brim River. However, we are not sure if archaic people in that territory had different means to commute. Perhaps, they used horses to reach each other by a long distant dry land travels. In addition, assuming the Brim River did not go through any changes throughout the history, and assuming both communities could cross the river only by boats, there is no clear-cut evidence that they did not use boats. In fact, they might have used wooden boats which throughout the history were decomposed, and for these boats to be discovered is by archeologists to search for findings of such material or in ancient documentation, such as cave paintings or ancient transcripts. If none of this evidence has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

It seems that the author assumed that the people in Lithos did not have any commodity relations with the Palean people. Perhaps, Palean baskets were bought from the Palean people by the Lithos society. However, there is not enough evidence for this to be assumed as well. If the writer had cited evidence to back his position, such as transcripts about the relations between both communities, or current research or/and historical review regarding the socioeconomic nature of these nations, then these assumptions might be stronger, and the argument might hold water.

One of the main important questions that should have been asked is who inhabited the Lithos village? Perhaps, Lithos residents were not entirely different than the Palean people in using baskets and living by the riverside, because they were in fact Palean as well. It is highly noticeable in the first paragraph of how narrow the initial scope of exploration was (i.e. immediate vicinity). And maybe widening such narrow scope of inquiry and uncovering similar findings actually means that both places had the same inhabitants. Again for the writer to make such assertion, additional historian information, valid and reliable research data and archeological evidence are needed.

In conclusion, the deduction as it is currently stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to cite some evidence (perhaps in a form of a systematic study and broad research), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the deduction that “Palean” baskets are not only Palean. Unless more evidence is provided, the readers of the current argument should find it unpersuasive.