Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

"Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by thirty percent. Potential employers apparently believe the grades at Omega are inflated; this would explain why Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of professors."

In evaluating the reason that graduates from omega university have not been as successful as graduates from nearby alpha university, the writer believes that the main culprit is the professor evaluation system., suggesting that it induces grade inflation and abase employers' trust in omega university graduates. however, such arguments is specious at most after a thorough investigation of the evidence substantiating it.

The main problem is that whether the procedure that encourages students to evaluate the professors do engender grade inflation. Granted, students will be in favor of those ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.