All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently.
If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your
reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements
might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position
In this world with ever growing competion, companies are focusing on more efficient operations. In doing so,
they tend to hire outside experts while neglecting the employees who regularly face the problem. I
strongly support the idea that companies should spend more time in listening to there employees than
outside consultants in order to reap profits and drive efficiency.
Just like a person knows about his home more than anyone else, a similar analogy can be drawn for a
person working in a company. It is the employee who faces all the difficulties, it may be in dealing with machines,
processes or people. Since company's workforce faces the problem, they are the better judge of how it can be
solved. A person working on a manufacturing line can easily tell the bottlenecks involved in the process rather than an
outside entity.
Moreover hiring a consultant, requires spending money extravagantly. Why go for such
an expensive solution, when you have a wealth of problem solvers present right in front of you.A trend
which has recently picked up is of Kaizen Circles. It is a unique idea invented by the car manufacturer
Toyota. The idea's foundation is that people working on similar jobs, form a group which discusses the
ongoing problem and gives a solution in a time bound frame. This strategy has reaped millions of dollars
for the company and helped them create a loyal workforce.
Moreover, discussing problems with the employees induces in them a sense of ownership. When the top management
talks to it employees and asks them for a solution, the employee realizes his or her importance in the company and works
much more diligently.
On the other hand, a consultant is a person who provides solutions on the basis
of experience in a particular industry and an overview of industry trends. The view may or may not be
helpful, since the consultant may never have faced such a problem. Consultants do not know the root
cause of the situation and thus may work in the wrong direction. How ever for an amateur company with
inexperienced employees a consultant can always light the path but can never ensure an efficient company.
The company's efficiency depends on its employees to a great extent.Therefore, spending huge amounts of
money on consultants to drive efficiency can easily be overshadowed when problems are discussed with the
employees.