The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The youth of any country are the torchbearers of its future. The onus of preparing a country's young people for the responsibilities they have to shoulder in the future lies in the hands of the society they are raised in. Some believe that the best way for a society to prepare its youth for leadership roles in government,industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. I mostly agree with this school of thought and will be providing two reasons to support my position. I will also discuss why cooperation is not the only quality that should be inculcated in future leaders.

To begin with, it is an anecdotally estabilished fact that most employees across sectors prefer working in teams driven by cooperation instead of competition. It is also well known that the responsibility of how a team operates is dependent on its manager or leader. In fact, in a survey conducted by the Great Manager Institute, this fact was even proven by supporting data. When employees were asked to rank the most important qualities in a leader, the winner by a huge margin was "cooperation", with people even claiming that they would prefer a team that has good harmony over a team offering better perks but in a competitive environment. This proves, quantitatively, that the most desirable quality in a leader in the industry is a sense of cooperation and society must thus, focus on inculcating this quality in its future leaders while they are young.

Further, even in governance there is clear historical precedent of preferring governments driven by a sense of cooperation over competition. Take the example of World War 2 time Japan, which had a competitive government that decided to take on the biggest superpower in the war, the United States, by bombing Pearl Harbour. They paid for this very heavily with the worst man-made disaster ever; the atomic bombings at Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Ever since, Japan has embraced and extolled a sense of harmony over everything else and has only elected leaders that examplify these values. It has the lowest crime rates in the world and has become an example to the rest of the globe. Evidently, leaders driven by competition only bring disastrous consequences to the people they represent, while cooperation leads to betterment for everyone involved. Therefore, a sense of cooperation is the most valuable quality in a leader, especially in the government and is something that must be nurtured in a nation's youth.

However, cooperation is not the only quality that matters in leaders. Leaders need to set an example for the people that follow them and for that they need to be strong, well-rounded personalities that are kind, intelligent,reliable and supportive. A sense of cooperation may very well be the most important quality a leader can have but, all of these qualities together build good leaders, and society must focus on instilling all of these in its youth to mould strong leaders for all domains to drive the future of the nation.

In conclusion, the matter of the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership roles is a complex one, with no easy answers. I mostly agree that the focus must be on developing a sense of cooperation over competition, as has been proven time and again in industry and government. However, it must also be considered that this is not the only quality needed to be a good leader and building a well-rounded personality is also an important component of society's preparation of its future leaders.