The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

In the modern society, we can easily see the competition around us. When we turn on TVs, there are programs like American Idols which select talented singers based on the competition. However, I don't necessarily think the competition is the best way to endorse the young leaders in different fields. Rather, the sense of cooperation seems to have more positive result to bring up spirited young leaders in our society.

Admittedly, competition can function to select the most intelligent or most talented people based on the equal standard. Anyone can get into higher positions or promoted to them if one's performance is great. Because of this characteristic, the competition can become the catalyst for young people to improve themselves. For instance, if a student performance at school is at the top level, he or she might go to good college and the possibility that he or she can succeed gets higher. Therefore, many students study hard to get higher scores in exams. Competition among students is equal and gives them incentives to improve their scores. However, the fierce competition sometimes results in disagreements and struggles among people. In reality, students who are so eager to get higher score steal the notes and books of smart students. Even students who always did second in the class put chemicals in the lens case of the student who was the first. Likewise, the purpose of competition can be distorted due to the disagreement between competitors.

Cooperation can become a real way for young people to find what they are good at. In groups, there are numerous types of people with different aptitudes. In the cooperative environment, people can share their works depending on one's talent. Therefore, the possibility that people could find their aptitude is higher under the cooperative environment. In addition, in the modern society, issues are so intricate that it is implausible that one elite would solve them successfully. Rather, when different people work together, the issues can be analyzed in different aspects that there can be a synergetic effect.

To sum up, under the competitive environment, the disagreements and struggles can happen among people. Therefore, the cooperative environment is the best way to raise future leaders who can solve the issue in groups.