The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The youth of a society is its future. The young generation helps shape the future of a society and it is the responsibility of elders and more mature people to help instill in them the good qualities required to build a better tomorrow. In light of this thought I agree that instilling a sense of coöperation, is very much important, in young minds is very essential. I am also think that competition as such should not be ignored but a healthy competition should be promoted.

When a society is more cooperative, the voices of everyone is heard and not of just the majority. It provides a sense of equality. Take for example, a government. When a government wants to pass a law it has the pass through both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha. For this to happen the government requires that all the ministers cooperate to pass the law for the betterment of the nation. The sense of agreeing to something that would help better the current state of the nation should be developed by the ministers. Here we are talking about instilling the notion of cooperation in young children. Take the example of a class drama which is to be organised by students. For the success of the play all the actors must cooperate and work together and not think of outshining each other. If they start competing among themselves, then they are the ones that will suffer and not be able to deliver the best play. Say, the acting department wants to outshine the music department then the audience might think that the music of the play is not that great which would be a disadvantage resulting in a not so good performance had the different departments put aside their differences.

Mahatma Gandhi lead a Non-Cooperation movement against the Britishers when they were ruling India. He launched a Non-Cooperation movement because he realised that for a society to function effectively, cooperation among its citizen is very necessary. In this movement people refused to pay takes that were humongous and were revolting against it in a peaceful manner. By looking at these examples we can clearly see how important cooperation is to a society.

Though cooperation is very much essential we can not say that competition will only lead to negativity and instability. Competition definitely makes us do better than others and give our best. In the same example of a school play, only the fact that a team needs to win motivates it to perform better. A team wants to do better than other teams so they will surely put in extra efforts to show their play is the best one to win. This promotes a healthy competition. A healthy completion is always beneficial. With this competition people always keep trying to better themselves and do good things so that their work is recognised.

A society needs cooperate as well as take criticism in its stride and criticism is achieved through competition. A healthy competition where nobody is hurt and everybody participates and pitches in idea for the betterment is definitely something any growing person should possess. Younger people should be taught about how important it is to cooperate with each other but at the same time healthy competition would never hurt.