The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teaching is an important aspect of the growth of human beings. It can either make a human a good person or a bad person. Therefore, it becomes essential that people are taught the basic fundamental principles and morals. There are many ways to impart teaching. One of them is through their actions. Sometimes, people learn things which are morally or professionally important through their actions. While doing good actions helps them to be a better person, it is often considered that negative actions are to be ignored as they do not reflect the well-being of the person. That is not true - it is important to consider negative actions as well, for we learn our mistakes through these actions and ensure that they are not repeated again.

School is the first stepping stone for a child. It is here where children are taught many subjects and concepts which have both academic and moral importance. There are two primary purposes of teaching in schools - to impart good academic education & to develop the all-round personality of children, and if either of them are not achieved, then this teaching is considered futile and ineffective. For example, a child maybe the topper of his class, scoring excellent grades and being intelligent. But what if he is arrogant, haughty and egotist? What if is he is a bully to other children of the same or smaller ages? In that case, it is essential for the teachers to impart education of moral values, such that not only is he academically diligent, but also a good representative to society, being amiable and affable.

They say charity begins at home. Similarly, parents are the first home to a child. Newly born babies have an inkling about what is right or wrong. They absorb what they see and it becomes a mental representation in their brain. If not looked after properly, the child can absorb the wrong habits and it becomes difficult to control their thoughts. Hence, it is extremely cardinal for parents to teach their child the right values and principles, some of which are not taught in school. Even if a child makes an err, it is important not to dispatch it away. But instead, the parent should explain to the child why the particular action is considered negative and what should be done to ensure it is not committed in the future.

The concept of teaching is not just qualified to parents and education institutions. It also applies to professional companies and offices. One of the employer’s prime responsibility is to ensure his/her employees are working with a moral and ethical sense of conduct. For example, an employee may be reaching his/her targets within the given deadline and receiving laurels and accolades for being consistent, but what if he is indulging in illicit practices, which could not only be detrimental to his/her career, but also to the future of the company? Therefore, it becomes essential for the employer to impart ethical values to the employees such that they do not besmirch the company they’re working for.

In conclusion, it can be said that while it is necessary to impart teaching by praising positive actions, it also important to not neglect the negative ones and instead, learn about the mistakes made and ensure they are not repeated in the future.