The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author claims that ignoring negative actions and encouraging positive deeds is the best way to teach. I agree with the author partly that praising the good actions can motivate any person to do the tasks frequently and follow the same path. However, I believe the author's conclusion that we should ignore the negative behaviors overlooks certain important premises which forces me to take dual stand in my view towards this.

To begin, I concede that praising positive actions of any individual will always encourage him to continue in that direction and will help him develop himself to a better person, both personally and professionally. To take an instance, Sanjay Dutt, an Indian actor, was below par in acting. He regularly tried to improve himself, but could not achieve his feat because his father was always doubting and derogating him. However, when Sunil Dutt expressed his proudness for his son and praised his efforts, the acting career of Sanjay begun to flourish as he continued on his efforts with no restrictions and doubts, eventually making him a megastar. Similarly, If we are praised for our efforts and acknowledged for our good deeds, we are bound to improve ourselves.

Furthermore, ignoring the negative works of a person will also assist him to better himself as every human tends to do tasks that will cause them to stand out in front of everyone. So, when our actions are ignored, we tend to doubt on those events and slowly stop performing the tasks, hence creating a path of goodness and success in front of us.

However, this probably won't be applicable in all purposes. It is almost sure that praising someone will encourage them, but ignoring their works is not a sure shot method. We try to perform some works frequently unless some attention is gathered for it. The serial killers kill people to gain curiosity of people towards them. If no one bats an eye for their action, they tend to increase the murders until it because a sensational headline in the news. Here, the ignoring method definitely fails. Moreover, ignoring the bad behaviors in kids will make them feel that they have got freedom for any actions and they were able to do those tasks completely fooling others. This will most possibly increase the deeds rather than stop it. They are surely going to learn but the lesson will be on the wrong side. We will fail to teach them what we desire or at least what a basic positive behaviors are.

To sum it all, the author's suggestion is partially helpful for the reason that encouragement and praise will always lead us do the works more efficiently and fervently. However, ignoring the negative deeds will not always serve our purpose to teach someone what they want to learn to their fullest and could even backfire in some situations. All the methods should be performed in a balance way.