The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue states that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. To a certain extent I disagree with the issue because if a person’s parent, educator or employer does not point out their negative actions, they cannot improve upon their negative traits.

The role of an educator, employer and parent is very important in a person’s life. They guide a person through their life. If they only praise a person for their positive actions and ignore their negative actions it would make the person think that everything that they do is always right and they would become full of themselves. For example if an educator praises students for their good work but doesn’t scold their students if they fight and ignores it, it would have a bad impact on their lives and students would feel that it is okay to fight. This would have a negative impact on the student’s life and so the teacher should point out and scold the students for their negative actions. However, if the mistake has happened unknowingly then the educator may ignore it or just tell the student so that he does not do it again.

As a parent, you want your child to be able to distinguish between what is right and what is wrong. When they do something wrong, parents need to teach their children and make them understand what they did was wrong so that they never repeat it. For example if parents always reward their child for getting good grades or for helping someone but ignore it if the child eggs someone’s house or break someone’s window, the child would think that what they are doing is not wrong and would continue doing it. Parents need to scold the child if they are going in the wrong direction and make them understand the consequences. On the other hand, if the mistake is small and the child realizes on his own that what he did was wrong, the negative action could be ignored sometimes.

A person should definitely be praised for his good actions and every person has some negatives, if the people guiding them point them out, the person can improve upon them and become a better person. An employer wants good work and efficiency for the company. He should always encourage his employees and praise them when they do good work but if they are not told and stopped on their negative actions, it might have a negative impact for the company. An employer needs to make sure that all his employees are working for the betterment of the company. While working people are tend to make mistakes but the employer should tell the person so that he does not repeat the mistake and he can get better at his job.

Educators, employers and parents play a very important role in shaping a person’s life so they should point out and tell the person of their negative actions as well as praise them on their good work so that a person can grow in their career and become a better human being.