Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim presented here is that any field should replace leaders every five years. The reasoning behind this is that new leadership revitalizes an industry and guarantees success. This is not always true and there are many other reasons to replace and keep leadership in an enterprise.

To begin, replacing leadership every five years can be disruptive to a field. For example, if a profitable business replaces their CEO, because they have been there for five years, this could endanger the success this business is experiencing. When an enterprise is working efficiently this is no reason to risk messing this up by changing the leadership. In other fields, such as education, changing principals after five years could ruin the way a school is working. Students who have grown accustomed to a certain system could be disrupted by a change, this might affect grades.

Moreover, leaders who have been in power a long time have more experience and expertise. When working in a field for a while those in charge begin to recognize what works and what does not work. Through trial and error, they come up with a system that is most efficient. When leaders are replaced every five years this interrupts their growth and stop leaders from every finding the right method. For example, in education a teacher may recognize that the best way their students learn is through answering questions. A new teacher may try a different method and teach the students less efficiently.

In opposition to this some may argue that changing leadership brings new ideas. This is true but replacing leadership every five years based on this logic is extreme. The benefits of a fresh take on an industry are not equal to the stress new leadership places on a field. New leadership also means the loss of experience and knowledge that the old powers had. The negative consequences of losing the original leadership unweight the positives from fresh leadership.

In conclusion, the claim that those in power should be replaced every year based on the reasoning that new leadership brings success is extreme. While new leadership can be a good idea when needed by a struggling industry, old leadership that is doing a good job should not be replaced. Replacing old leadership when it is not needed does more harm than good.