Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The claim that in any prospective field, those in power should step down after five years is reasonably true. Whereas the reason stated for the claim is conditionally true. The reason that the surest path to success is revitalisation through new leadership is only completely true provided the new leader has the correct intent and the mettle to carry forward the legacy. New leadership not necessarily means new/young blood, it means new ideas.

Firstly, if an organisation has a leader who has served for more than a required time then traits of banality in an organisation can be observed. This is because an organisation cannot survive long on a mundane set of tenets. Evolution requires change. In order to thrive for an organisation, it is necessary to evolve which with a constant leader seems improbable. Reason being, we are humans, and as humans, we tend to accept what is working for us and avoid the risk of obscurity. We don’t like to do things which diverge from our preoccupied approach.

Secondly, one person represents only a certain kind of beliefs. For an organisation to sustain for a long period, it needs to be comprehensive with its ideology. Since we, as humans, are limited with our thoughts, it is required for an organisation to have different leaders with a diverse range of beliefs.

For example, even the prime minister of India serves a term for only five years and then the prime minister is re-elected, and so is the government. Whereas, the president of the United States serves for four years before re-election.

However, it is not necessary that an organisation would do wonders with new leadership. It is possible that the new leader has no intent in the welfare of the organisation, that the leader has no imminent vision for the organisation, that the leader is unable to inspire its pupil, or the leader simply lacks the audacity to diverge from the precedents’ views. Hence it is not necessary that new leadership would always prosper the organisation.

For example, the son of a highly successful king might not be the right choice as a succession to the kingdom if the prince is not even interested in kingship and wants to pursue art. On the other hand, a wise dweller has the potential of becoming a king with his wisdom and dedication to sacrifice himself for the kingdom.

Hence conclude that, in any field, revitalisation of leadership in an organisation is necessary in order to succeed.