Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The author infers that leader regardless of filed should resign after five years in that new leaders are likely to induce revitalization which make group success. Even though I admit that vitality is important to success, I disagree with the claim for several reasons.

To begin with, I admit that new leaders can make groups playful and energetic. As the leader change, the leader can induce fresh energy and make team members vigorous. To illustrate, consider Liverpool a foot ball team in England. After Liverpool changed their manager to Klopp, the team changed a lot. The members became more vigorous and spirited. As a result, their performance had became more superior than before winning Champions League and Premier League which the team had failed for decade. However, it does not imply that old-standing leaders are always obsolete and tedious. The team's vigorousness and vitality depends to the leader's ability not a period the leader had worked for. The group can maintain their performance and even develop the ability with vitality even though the manager had kept their status for long periods. For example, Apple, one of the biggest IT company had achieved outstanding performance through their innovative and well-built products even though Steve Jobs had lead the team for long periods. As innovation and lively spirit are essence of Steve Jobs, Apple can maintain their vitality no matter how long he had managed the corporation. For another example, Alex Ferguson, had made superior achievements in Manchester United States, a football team in England for 27 years. Considering the ardor and heartful play of players, nobody doubts the Ferguson's vigorous leadership. Likewise long-standing leader can still revitalize the team and finally make the team successful. Shall we change managers of Apple and Manchester United States merely because they had worked for over five years?

What is more, the leader can seek only short-term profits without considering long-term effects. As we all know, the leader should have long-sighted eyes rather than short-sighted to make his/her team success. The teams which seeks only short-term effects are likely to collapse as time flows. However, if we force the manager to resign after five years, the manager may lose his/her motive to establish long-term policies and strategies as they usually need times to make a profit. To illustrate consider Ronald Raegan, a former president of United States. Ronald Raegan dealt with economic depression by adopting policies that cease the cost control and encourage competitions among enterprises. Even though the policies took time to make an effect, it finally solved the problem and make United States a dominating country. If the United States did not allow his reelection, the economic depression might still be rampant and suffer the United States.

Finally, we should also consider the experience which is one of the most important factor of success. As CLC(corporate leadership council)'s research that 50% of new leaders fail in three years due to their inexperience and Tom Peter's, well known for business management, emphasis on 'know-how' stating that 'great leader learns through experience' implies, sufficient experience is essential to group's success. As the each company's conditions and environment are different, the old leader had unique experience and know-hows which is adapted to the group's peculiarity and can not be accumulated by leading other group. As we can not expect new leaders to adopt well-adapted strategies or policies, employing new leader every five years can be harmful to group's performance.

In conclusion, even though I admit that new leader can actually make team more vigorous than before, I disagree with the claim based on above mentioned reasons. Changing leader for fixed periods is bane rather than boon for group's perspective.